Our site uses cookies necessary for its proper functioning. To improve your experience, other cookies may be used: you can choose to disable them. This can be changed at any time via the Cookies link at the bottom of the page.

Université de Bordeaux

Martin Dichgans

Last update Wednesday 10 February 2021

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany

Martin Dichgans

Martin Dichgans is a Professor of neurology at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, LMU (Munich, Germany). He is the Founding Director of the Institute for Stroke and Dementia Research, Director of the Interdisciplinary Stroke Center Munich, and on the Board of Directors of the DFG funded Excellence cluster ‘Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology (SyNergy)’.

He is on the executive committee of the European Stroke Organisation (ESO) and is ESOs president elect. He has served as the chair of the ESO conference Planning Group (CPG), as an organizer of the ESO stroke science workshops, and on the steering committee of the Action Plan for Stroke in Europe. He further served the German Stroke Society (DSG) as president.

His major research interest is in the mechanisms, diagnosis and treatment of small vessel disease (SVD), stroke and vascular cognitive impairment (VCI). His methodological focus is in genetics, molecular and cellular biology, neuroimaging and the conduct of investigator-initiated studies.

Dr. Dichgans has authored over 400 research articles, reviews, and editorials. He served as a coordinator / principal investigator of various national, EU (FP7 and Horizon2020) and transatlantic (Fondation Leducq) research grants, and is in leadership positions at national and international conferences on stroke and dementia. Dr. Dichgans coordinates multicenter clinical trials on SVD and VCI and has contributed to national and international stroke guidelines and expert statements. He is on the Editorial Board of the journals Annals of Neurology, Stroke, International Journal of Stroke, European Stroke Journal and Frontiers in Stroke.

Dr. Dichgans serves as chair of the scientific advisory board of the EU ERANET Neuron. He further serves on the research committee of the World Stroke Association (WSO) and scientific board of the DFG-funded Graduate School for Systemic Neurosciences (GSN).