Our site uses cookies necessary for its proper functioning. To improve your experience, other cookies may be used: you can choose to disable them. This can be changed at any time via the Cookies link at the bottom of the page.

Université de Bordeaux

Stéphanie Debette, M.D., Ph.D.

Last update Monday 24 October 2022

University of Bordeaux - French National Institute of Health and Medical Research (Inserm), France

Stéphanie Debette, M.D., Ph.D.

Stephanie DEBETTE, M.D. Ph.D., is Professor of Epidemiology at UBx-INSERM Bordeaux Population Health research center and a practicing Neurologist at Bordeaux University Hospital. She currently serves as director of the Bordeaux Population Health research center where she also heads the ELEANOR team.

She has been leading large collaborative genomic and epidemiological studies on stroke, dementia and imaging markers of brain aging, especially cerebral small vessel disease (> 200 peer-reviewed articles), aiming to decipher the biological mechanisms underlying brain aging and to improve prevention and treatment of stroke and dementia.

Prof. Debette leads a European Research Council grant and is principal investigator of national investment for the future and European grants. She has been awarded the Claude Pompidou Foundation prize for dementia research and the scientific excellence award of the European Stroke Organization as well as the National Order of Merit medal.

A former Fulbright fellow and adjunct associate professor at Boston University, she was a visiting professor at Kyoto University. She collaborates closely with the Cohorts of Heart and Aging Research in Genomic Epidemiology (CHARGE) consortium where she serves in the research steering committee, chaired the International Stroke Genetics Consortium (ISGC) between 2017 and 2019, and coordinates the CADISP consortium on Cervical Artery Dissection and Ischemic Stroke in young Patients.

She also served as Vice-President for External Relations at the University of Bordeaux (2018 – 2022) and chair of the Board of Directors of the ENLIGHT European University Alliance (2019 - 2022).